WIAW – Super healthy, yummy edition!

Happy Wednesday all! It’s that time of the week – What I Ate Wednesday! As you know, I’ve been dog and housesitting for almost a week now and have had lots of time to focus on creating healthy meals. YUM! If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram you have already seen some of this (and if you don’t follow me, let’s connect!).

As usual, thanks to the lovely Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting!

IMG_2069[1]
The sweet girl I’ve been dogsitting. I just love her!

 IMG_2067[1]
My dinner Thursday night – I was lucky enough to be left leftover grilled salmon and broccoli. I paired it with a a Blue Moon, which was perfect for the warm weather!

IMG_2074[1]
And for dessert…Blueberry Chobani with strawberries and blueberries.

IMG_2089[1]
And my typical breakfast – this time Raspberry Chobani with strawberries and blackberries and a small bowl of Cranberry and Macademia Nut cereal. Totally filling and delicious!

IMG_2083[1]
After my shopping trip on Friday, I stopped at Menchies for some fro-yo! I got the cake batter fr0-yo with frosted animal crakers and white chocolate chips. Not the healthiest, but definitely tasty!

IMG_2113[1]
This was my breakfast on Saturday. Toasted whole wheat bread topped with cheese, a fried egg, and hot sauce.

IMG_2112[1]IMG_2119[1]
And this is my new favorite lunch! I toast 2 small tortillas with a sprinkling of cheese and orange bell pepper. After the cheese is melted and the pepper is a tad cooked, I top with turkey, mixed greens, and salsa. Talk about delicious! I ate this 4 days in a row for lunch…no shame!

 IMG_2115[1]  IMG_2118[1]
And my new favorite breakfast. Toasted whole wheat bread topped with peanut butter, Nutella, and Blackberry-Strawberry jam. I am totally aware that Nutella is not the best thing to have for breakfast, but a little indulgence never hurt anyone! No lie, this sandwich was divine!

IMG_2126[1]
Monday night, I met Heidi for a run and then we made dinner and dessert. For dinner, we baked a Hy-Vee chicken breast, stuffed with a bit of pepper jack cheese and with cornbread crust and a side of sauteed broccoli and red pepper. And for dessert…

IMG_2131[1]IMG_2135[1]
We (and by we I mean Heidi) made a tart! A peach, nectarine, with a jam glaze tart. Holy cow, this was amazing. Heidi made both the crust and the filling and was sweet enough to tell me how…I think I may take a stab at making my own version sometime soon!

IMG_2134[1]
And finally, my breakfast Tuesday morning. A bowl of Cranberry and Macademia cereal and a fruit salad with strawberries, blackberries, and a pear. Again, totally feeling and even more delicious.

Phew! That was a lot of food to share with you today! I really got inspired this week to start cooking and eating more clean again, which was much needed. I’m all down housesitting on Thursday, but am planning on bringing this culinary ambition back to my apartment! I’m working on my upcoming meal plan (like I said I would in my July goals) and am looking forward to a good upcoming week!

Your Turn!

  • What types of food did you eat this week? Have you tried anything new?
  • Any fruits or veggies you recommend I try? I’m making my grocery list and would love some suggestions!

10 thoughts on “WIAW – Super healthy, yummy edition!

  1. Girlie, my sister eats Nutella for breakfast all the time. I tend not to, just because my body isn’t a fan of sweets early in the morning. But if it satisfies you both mentally and physically, go for it! YAY for Menchie’s and runny yolks…but…where’s the goat cheese? 😛

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one eating Nutella at 7:30am! I could eat sweets all day long – chocolate is definitely my weakness!

      And I couldnt’ believe I posted a WIAW without goat cheese! I haven’t had any in about a week – I’m starting to go through withdrawals. Maybe next week I’ll dedicate a whole post to goat cheese…haha

Leave a comment