WIAW: Quick, Simple, and Healthy

Happy Wednesday!

First, I have some good news – if you follow me on Twitter, you know I went to the doctor yesterday to see if I have plantar fasciitis or a stress fracture. After waiting 90 minutes to see a doctor (a whole ‘nother story!), she told me I have plantar fasciitis and should go to physical therapy. So, I see that as good news, though I’m still not thrilled that I have to take it easy and lower my mileage.

Since it’s Wednesday, I’m linking up with Jenn’s WIAW party. Be sure to check out everyone else’s tasty meals as well!

First off…I’m back in to loving avocados lately!

IMG_2769
Since I stayed with Charlie for the past four days, I had to be creative about meals. I didn’t want to go full out grocery shopping and wanted meals to be quick, easy, and mostly healthy. This is a pinto bean and shredded cheese quesadilla, topped with mashed avocado.

corndillas
And a corn salsa and chipotle tabasco sauce quesadilla. Loved the chipotle tabasco sauce – smokey with a bit of spice!

IMG_2758
Remember last week I made venison burgers? This is a leftover venison burger, topped with Hatch Pepper cheese, eaten in a tortilla covered with mashed avocado and corn salsa. Yum!

And you know I love breakfast…

IMG_2766
Typical breakfast for me. Chobani Coconut yogurt, topped with strawberries and blueberries. Coffee on the side, of course!

Note: I used a french press to make coffee all weekend and OH. MY. GOD. I’m seriously debating trading out my Keurig for a french press, that’s how good the coffee was!

pbpancakes
And have you ever tried making dark chocolate peanut butter and strawberry jam pancakes? Winner!

IMG_2763

I think I told you how I’ve been really into tea lately? Yup, still am. Loving Bigelow’s French Vanilla! Perfect after dinner treat!

charicecream
Finally, life isn’t complete without ice cream on a cold day. And I had to share with my best bud (don’t worry, he only licked the empty container!).

Yum – it’s been a tasty week! I’m thinking tonight I might try to do an easy run – I took two days off and would like to make sure I’m keeping up with training, just at a slower pace. We’ll see!

I’m also looking forward to connecting with my fellow Girls on the Run coaches to plan the season tonight! I’m planning to share more about GOTR tomorrow, so if you’ve ever wondered about the organization, hopefully this will help (and inspire you to coach?!).

Your Turn!

  • When you’re not at home, what are your quick and easy go-to meals?
  • Do you give your dog people food? I know I’m not supposed to, but Charlie loves having a taste of ice cream and greek yogurt!

Looking to connect with Racing Bananas even more (yeah, you are!):

Email: RacingBananas22@gmail.com
Twitter: @RacingBananas
Instagram: Kim_RacingBananas
Facebook: Racing Bananas
Pinterest: KimDino22
Bloglovin: Racing Bananas

27 thoughts on “WIAW: Quick, Simple, and Healthy

  1. Girl, that’s great news that you don’t have a stress fracture. I know cutting back your mileage may stink for the time being, but it’ll be worth it in the long run. No need to run & injure yourself worse 🙂

    No, I’ve never tried those pancakes before.. what recipe do you use??

    • You’re right – it’s tough but I have to think about my health!
      I used a plain pancake mix and then added some vanilla and PB2, then topped with dark chocolate PB and strawberry jam. Pretty simple, but tasty!

  2. 1) so jealous of your coconut chobani. my closest grocery store has yet to stock it and it’s driving me crazy! 2) what recipe do you use for your pancakes?! they sound delicious.

  3. Oh that’s good it’s not a stress fracture! I think you just have to take it easy and keep with the rolling using a frozen water bottle.
    We give our little dog, Alfie, tiny bits of cheese occassionally and anything that falls off the side by accident haha. He loves it. I’ve even seen him eat lettuce. He didn’t look particularly happy about it afterwards though hehe.

  4. I loveee PB and J pancakes! Glad to hear that it’s plantar and not a stress fracture. I got plantar a bunch of times.. I found rolling on a tennis ball followed by rolling on a styrofoam ice cup cured me! But I’m no doctor 🙂

  5. I’m still trying to come back after a run in (quite literally) with plantar fasciitis, take it easy – massage 🙂 was the BEST help for me, after spending lots of $ at the doc 😦 I love venison burgers, our family gets it each year after hunting – some are turned off by it but I know where it came from, it is completely organic, natural, and very good nutritionally! Glad to see another fan.

    • That’s good to hear – I actually have a massage scheduled for late September and I was fit in for physical therapy next Tuesday too, which I hope will be helpful! It’s tough to take the time off though! Glad to meet a fellow hunter/venison eater! I agree – it’s tasty and such a good source of protein!

  6. My fiancé hunts and we always have venison in our freezer!! I love it so much. I’m still getting used to cooking some of it because some cuts can be so tough! That quesadilla looks aaammazingggg! My go to meal is usually scrambled eggs with loads of veggies and avocado. Random but good!!
    OH and I have a French Press and Keurig… and a Percolator. But I prefer French Press coffee, too!!

    • My dad and brother hunt, so we usually have a good amount of venison as well. I’m lucky because they package it, so I usually just open it and it’s ready to be cooked! Agreed – there is something about the french press that makes coffee even better than I thought it could be! 🙂

Leave a comment