Getting Ready for Girls on the Run!

Happy Thursday!

First, my “Aha Moment” post is featured on Fit Approach today. Head on over to check it out!

Today is my FOURTH day of rest. My foot/heel is feeling much better, which is fantastic news. I’m hoping to go for an easy run either Friday night or Saturday morning. Then, easing back into training. Between the weather and busy-ness of this week, I think my training would have been a little tough to keep up with. So I’m thinking positive and seeing this as a mini gift in disguise. All about mindset, right?

IMG_2775Recycled pic…want to run!

Girls on the Run

As you know, this fall I’m coaching for the first time with Girls on the Run (GOTR)! GOTR is a non-profit organization that combines lessons and running to “inspire self-respect and healthy lifestyles in pre-teen girls” (GOTR website — click to read more). Our season officially begins next week, but I’ve already had a four hour training and first aid and CPR certification to get prepared. Last night, I met with two of my fellow coaches to begin planning the season in a little more detail.

gotrlogo

What does a season look like? GOTR is a ten week program – we’ll start next week and end the first week in November. Over the course of the season, the girls (3rd, 4th, and 5th graders) participate in different lessons that encompass issues such as confidence and bullying, and throughout it, train to run a 5K during the last week (I use the word “train” very lightly). In addition, during the season the girls run a mock 5K and complete a service project…Pretty cool, huh? I love the idea of this program, because when I was that age, I was incredibly self-conscious and down on myself, and never would have considered running one mile, much less 3.1! I truly hope that I am able to connect with these girls and hopefully help make a positive impact on their lives!

I’ll be coaching with three other women at a local elementary school on Tuesdays and Thursdays. Two of the coaches worked at this site last spring, so it will be nice to have the support already in place there. We met last night to share a margarita and split up the lessons and got to know each other a bit. I’m really excited to connect with some people my age in town!

Anyways, I’ll keep you guys posted on the season as it goes on. Some of you have told me you’re involved with GOTR either in Madison or your city, and I can’t wait to hear about your experience too!

Your Turn!

  • Do you volunteer with any organization? What drew you to it?

12 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Girls on the Run!

  1. Wow GOTR sounds like an awesome program! I wish we had something like that around here. I volunteered throughout college for a in-school mentoring program that helped girls boost their self confidence. It was an amazing experience, I wish I still had time for it!

    • I’m really looking forward to really diving in next week! It is a national program – not sure where you live, but it is something to possibly look in to! Love the idea of doing a mentoring program with girls as well – the earlier we can instill feelings of self-confidence, the better!

  2. I looked up Girls on the Run when Cori posted about it, and it seems like such a wonderful organization! The only chapter in CT is pretty far from me, which is why I didn’t sign up, but I can’t wait to hear more about your experiences! For me volunteering is one of those things that just makes me feel so good. Like I was doing something useful with my time, helping someone else, and really getting a lot out of it myself. I volunteer at a free clinic on Saturdays and it’s amazing.

    • That’s a bummer that there isn’t a chapter nearby! I agree – volunteering is such a great opportunity and I’m so glad to find something that I’m passionate about! I would love to hear about experiences at the free clinic sometime!

  3. I applied to volunteer with Girls on the Run, and would love to work with them! So excited to hear how your season goes!

    Congratulations on your “Aha” Moment being featured on Fit Approach! #SweatPink 🙂

Leave a comment